Color blocking or random use of bright colors together, who decides?

I’m all for the color blocking trend, but frankly since plaid is my favorite color I am just not that good at it. I adore wearing orange in the fall. So when I pulled out this vintage orange dress I thought I’d add a shot of bright. In the form of purple… and velvet. I like to skirt the “tacky during daylight” line sometimes. 
How about you? How colorblocked are your pieces this year? Or are you ready to move on to less crayon box coordination?
Jacket Mizrahi/Dress Vintage/Shoes Hasbeens
 

19 thoughts on “Color blocking or random use of bright colors together, who decides?

  1. I love "plaid is my favorite color". BEAUTIFUL. I color block? I didn't know it had a name for the longest time. I'm all for it though I think of it as just dressing loudly. You pull it off! I love the colors.

  2. Hehehe!  Tacky during daylight is always a great line to cross.  I think you did it, but with style and grace.  I don't colorblock nearly enough as I should (correction:  I don't colorblock EVER)…I've been noticing I have way too many neutrals in my closet.

  3. I'm crazy in love with this color pairing. The design on the dress is very pretty. I love color blocking. I tend to do it more often in warmer months though. My winter-closet is full of too much black.

  4. Like you, I've been rather obsessed with wearing orange this fall! It's such a lovely color that gets me in the mood for the holidays. xxLauren of Someone Like You.

  5. wonderful artistical pictures! your blog is really nice so special- i'm following you now.hope you'll have a look at my blog too and if you like it, you can follow me too, i'll be waiting for you.lovely greets and a wonderful weekend.maren anita<3www.fashion-meets-art.com

Leave a comment